Posted by: eileenlangsley | April 14, 2012

Announcement

Announcement.

 

Please respect the copyright of the images and text in this posting.

I am pleased to be able to announce the publication of my latest book –

“Rhythmic Gymnastics – A Tribute.”

The Cover Page from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

Unlike my previous publications (‘Gymnastics The Art of Sport’ and ‘Gymnastics In Perspective’), this is a self published work and I have undertaken the photography, design and some of the writing. I am very happy to report that two outstanding writers are contributors to this publication – Vera Marinova Atkinson and Atsuko Watabe – and their inspirational words have truly made this book a tribute to a very artistic and beautiful sport.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

I am happy to post some pages and spreads from the book and as ever, I request that viewers do not ‘lift’ these images which carry my copyright.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

It is possible to view more layouts online and here is a link which should take interested parties directly to it:-

http://www.blurb.com/books/3131131

This link may not work on some computers so here is a second one, just in case!

http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/3131131

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley


A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

The book is for sale in hardback (12” x 12” or 30cms x 30cms) with a dust jacket cover; it is a large coffee table publication printed on quality photographic paper with 240 photographs – so buyers get plenty for their money! Self publishing is not a cheap option and this book will be something of a special purchase for interested buyers. I’m conscious that the price puts it out of the range for many younger gymnasts and fans so have arranged for the book to be available in e book format for viewing on iPads and iPhones. The price for this option should bring it within their reach. It is due to be listed on Apple’s iBookstore within a week or so and is also available for download from Blurb.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley,May 2012.

Whilst the photographs feature many of the current generation of gymnasts from all over the world, they also focus on many of the stars from the past using images I have taken during my 35 year long career. Most of the book is in full colour but there are several pages in black and white, showing the years of development in the sport.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

There are also sections of generic/art images

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

and a focus on behind the scenes of training.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

My intention with this book had been to create a visual feast which would be a true tribute to a great sport and to the work of the coaches and their gymnasts. I hope that readers will agree.

A double page spread from 'Rhythmic Gymnastics - A Tribute' published by Eileen Langsley

Please respect the copyright of these images

http://www.langsleysports.com

 © Eileen Langsley 2012

Responses

  1. Hi, love the photos. How can I get a hand on the book please?

  2. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog!

    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  3. Good day I am so glad I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was looking on
    Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just
    like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  4. That is really interesting, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for extra of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

  5. Good way of explaining, and nice article to get information about my presentation focus, which i am
    going to present in university.

  6. Very instructive….look forward to coming back again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

