Posted by: eileenlangsley | July 8, 2015

Sport – My Way – A journey through the Art of Sport

The cover of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

The cover of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

For quite a while I have been aiming to create a book which summed up my approach to sports photography and which featured many of my favourite images. I am happy to announce that I have recently accomplished this goal and it is now available in print and as an eBook for iPads. This link will bring up all the details of this project, with the chance to preview several pages and make any orders:-

http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6360480-sport-my-way

The book is large format hardback (12″x12″) printed on art paper and it is intended as a collector’s item. I am grateful to Popperfoto and to the International Gymnastics Hall of Fame for permission to reproduce photographs which are now in their ownership; these comprise my film based images taken between 1976 and 2003.

The book poses this question:-

Is sport a phenomenon that is based on purely physical, competitive activity or can it also exhibit inspirational artistic moments as well?

It takes a look at both these aspects of sport, featuring photography from a wide range of sports and events and which illustrates that artistry is inherent in all kinds of sports, taking the reader on a journey of exploration of these themes in each chapter of the book. ‘The Art of the Moment’ features exciting images captured at the peak of the action; ‘The Art in Detail’ takes a closer look; ‘The Art of Expression’ includes artistry in movement as well as in the emotions on show; ‘The Art of Observation’ focuses on the importance of this quality to the photographer; ‘Created Art’ looks at how photographers can use photographic techniques to generate a different way of looking at images; ‘The Art of the Event’ demonstrates how photographers can step back from the action to put the activity in the context of the whole environment. Whilst images take pride of place, there is text to accompany each chapter and relevant quotes from some of the world’s great photographers are also used. The featured images were taken at many events – from the Olympic Games through to local activities for children – and all have been carefully selected to illustrate the theme of the book.

To provide a flavour of the style and nature of the book, a number of page designs are included. Please respect the copyright of these images.

The cover of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

The title page of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

The verso page of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

The verso page of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

 

page 7 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 7 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 8 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 8 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

Page 11 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

Page 11 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

Page 22 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

Page 22 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 39 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 39 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

Page 27 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

Page 27 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 29 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 29 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 16 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 16 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 21 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 21 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 49 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 49 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 102 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 102 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 65 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 65 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 72 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 72 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 95 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 95 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 110 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 110 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

page 117 of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

page 117 of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

Acknowledgements of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

Acknowledgements of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

Back cover of the new book published July 2015 - 'Sport - My Way' by Eileen Langsley

Back cover of the new book published July 2015 – ‘Sport – My Way’ by Eileen Langsley

http://www.langsleysports.com

 

EileenLangsley © 2015 all right reserved

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

